Ask Sawal

Discussion Forum
Notification Icon1
Write Answer Icon
Add Question Icon

is cws double elimination?

5 Answer(s) Available
Answer # 1 #

The 2022 College World Series is here, the field is just about set and eight teams will vie for the opportunity to be named best in the nation.

The 2022 NCAA baseball tournament has already been wrought with drama: The No. 1 team in the land, Tennessee, was handed a shocking elimination at the hands of the Notre Dame Fighting Irish in the super regional round.

Arkansas knocked off No. 10-seeded North Carolina in walk-off fashion, punching its ticket to Nebraska. Fourth-seeded Virginia Tech was also sent packing, with Oklahoma moving on after three games.

MORE: Watch the 2022 College World Series with fuboTV (get access now)

Here's how the NCAA baseball tournament and the College World Series works:

The "College World Series" part is a bit confusing: That part comes later in the process.

In fact, the NCAA baseball tournament should be called something like May Madness. Beginning in May, 64 teams enter the tournament, with the final eight punching their tickets to Omaha for the College World Series.

The College World Series is then contested in a double-elimination tournament, with the winners heading to the College World Series finals.

The entire tournament breaks down in four, easy (read as: confusing) parts:

The first part of the NCAA men's baseball tournament is the regional round. All 64 teams are divided into 16 brackets (four teams per bracket), and the teams engage in a double-elimination tournament, meaning a school is eliminated when it loses twice. Teams are seeded No. 1 through No. 4 in each region.

After that, the 16 victorious teams move on to the…

All 16 of the regional bracket-winning teams advance to the super regional stage. Teams are paired and face off in a best-of-three series. Once that's completed, the eight winning teams advance to the…

MORE: Full NCAA super regionals bracket, TV schedule, results

This is when you reach the actual "College World Series" part of the NCAA baseball tournament. The College World Series is split into two, four-team brackets. This part of the tournament is also double elimination.

The top teams in each bracket move on to the…

The top teams from the penultimate stage face off in a best-of-three series to determine the best college baseball team in the nation.

The full bracket for the 2022 College World Series will be revealed on Monday, June 13.

So far, Notre Dame, Texas, Texas A&M, Arkansas, OIe Miss and Oklahoma have made it to the College World Series. The final two teams will be determined on Monday, June 13.

Bracket 1

Bracket 2

This section will be updated when the bracket is revealed.

Shrivastav Zella
Answer # 2 #
  • 12 — Southern California (1948, 1958, 1961, 1963, 1968, 1970-74, 1978, 1998) .
  • 6 (tied) — LSU (1991, 1993, 1996-97, 2000, 2009) .
  • 6 (tied) — Texas (1949-50, 1975, 1983, 2002, 2005) .
  • 5 — Arizona State (1965, 1967, 1969, 1977, 1981) .
  • 4 (tied) — Arizona (1976, 1980, 1986, 2012)
Sayaka Budelmann
Answer # 3 #

A flurry of college baseball is coming your way, and unless you want to be as confused as a pre-frosh at orientation, you had better be up on the intricacies of the NCAA Baseball Championship.

Confusion is to the NCAA as Antonio Cromartie is to newborns- that is to say they are inextricably linked. Out of bats, balls and gloves they managed to forge a bracket of pure puzzlement only a fool tries to understand; take our hand as we walk through this maze together in search for a light at the end of the tunnel and the cornfields of Omaha.

Entering into this labyrinth, we see a field of 64 teams. This contingent is comprised of the 30 Division I conference champions who receive automatic berths and followed by the 34 at-large selections. Of these 64 teams, eight are given National Seeds. Seems pretty simple, right? All you have to do from here is construct a bracket that will inevitably crumble to pieces as your lifeless body follows suit in your best friends’ living room while watching Duke make a premature, but predictable, tournament exit. WRONG. This is not college basketball. This is not Adam Morrison crying. This is college baseball. And there is no crying in baseball.

There are three tiers of competition in this tournament: Regionals, Super Regionals, and the College World Series. This is a double-elimination tournament, meaning a team could conceivably lose four games and still be crowned champion… This seems like a bit of a stretch.


Regionals are held in 16 national locations and consists of four teams at each location seeded one through four. The 16 locations are determined through merit. Merit meaning how much money the NCAA can make from the specific locale. But most number one seeds will host a Regional. Each regional field features four teams, playing in a double-elimination format. All 16 regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, May 29 to Monday, June 1 (if necessary).


The winner of each Regional will move on to the Super Regionals. If any of the eight National Seeds advance from Regionals, they will host Super Regionals at their home site. In the likely occurrence not all eight teams make it past the carnage, the NCAA chooses a location based, again, on merit. Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced at approximately 11 p.m. ET June 1.

By this time, there are 16 surviving teams playing at eight various sites. So we get to see two teams at eight sites, playing a best-of-three series for a berth to the College World Series in Omaha, Nebraska.

Also to note:

- National Seeds cannot face each other at the Super Regional level

- One school hosts all three games

- The teams split home-team status in the first two games, with the host school batting last in the opening game and first in game 2.

- If a third game is needed, a coin toss determines home-team status.

Pretty simple stuff.


If my math holds true, eight teams advance from the Super Regionals and meet to play in the CWS.

Binny Tyrewala
Answer # 4 #

The winners of the super regionals -- eight teams in all -- advance to the College World Series in Omaha, Nebraska. The College World Series is a double-elimination format until the final two teams are left standing.

Sabita Bliss
Answer # 5 #

Here's what you need to know on that front.

The field of 64 includes eight national seeds, which you may consider the pre-tourney favorites to reach Omaha. Here are this year's eight national seeds:

If a national seed wins its regional, then it hosts the super regional when possible. Otherwise, the sites of the super regionals will be announced after the regional round concludes. Regional play gets underway on Friday, June 2. Now, here are the matchups for all 16 regionals -- reminder that each region is seeded one through four and is hosted by one of the 16 national seeds.

Hosted by No. 1 national seed Wake Forest.

Hosted by No. 2 national seed Florida.

Hosted by No. 3 national seed Arkansas.

Hosted by No. 4 national seed Clemson.

Hosted by No. 5 national seed LSU.

Hosted by No. 6 national seed Vanderbilt.

Hosted by No. 7 national seed Virginia.

Hosted by No. 8 national seed Stanford.

Hosted by No. 9 national seed Miami.

Hosted by No. 10 national seed Coastal Carolina.

Hosted by No. 11 national seed Oklahoma State.

Hosted by No. 12 national seed Kentucky.

Hosted by No. 13 national seed Auburn.

Hosted by No. 14 national seed Indiana State.

Hosted by No. 15 national seed South Carolina.

Hosted by No. 16 national seed Alabama.

Here's a link to's full bracket, which includes region vs. region pairings for the super regionals. Now for some quick hit takeaways on the 64-team field laid out above:

Tobie Pontecorvo
Chief Media Officer