Ask Sawal

Discussion Forum
Notification Icon1
Write Answer Icon
Add Question Icon

What is end to end encrypted data on iphone?

4 Answer(s) Available
Answer # 1 #

End-to-end encrypted data can be decrypted only on your trusted devices where you're signed in with your Apple ID. No one else can access your end-to-end encrypted data — not even Apple — and this data remains secure even in the case of a data breach in the cloud.

[5]
Edit
Query
Report
Answer # 2 #

When you set up a new iPhone, you may receive a message telling you to reset end-to-end encrypted data. It’s a message that pops up when the iPhone is not approved from another device. The message reads, “Can’t approve this iPhone?” There is a selection that reads: Reset Encrypted Data. Read on to learn more about the feature and what to do when you get this message.

This is a security feature deployed by Apple to help protect your data. Data can be delivered to another user in encrypted form by using a key.

This feature also means that you need to have two-factor authentication set up on a separate trusted device.

Many people worry if resetting this feature will erase their photos, music and other data. You will keep your personal items loaded into your phone. However, resetting end-to-end encrypted data may erase items like search histories, passwords, iCloud messages, health data, Apple Card transactions, Siri info, iCloud keychain, home data, memojis, payment info and learned vocabulary in the QuickType Keyboard.

To keep things like messages, you can have them backed up to iCloud. It’s a good idea to entirely back up your iPhone in case you need to do this, as well.

The reason this message pops up is that you may have not approved the device from your iCloud account. In that case, you would need to log into your iCloud account and approve the device that is showing the message.

To approve a new device in iCloud:

You may try shutting off two-factor authentication. To turn off two-factor authentication, you will have to log in to your Apple ID account page. In the security section, select Account Security. You can turn off your two-factor authentication from there.

If you don’t wish to shut off two-factor authentication or it does not work, you might try resetting the end-to-end encrypted data. In most cases, it’s a simple matter of selecting the Reset Encrypted Data option on the message that pops up.

If you need to go in and manually reset encrypted data, such as if you forgot a password for encrypted backups, you’d simply do a reset of your iPhone. Do a reset by going to Settings (cogwheel icon) > General > Transfer or Reset iPhone > Reset > Reset All Settings.  You may need to enter your password.

[3]
Edit
Query
Report
Morgana Stroheim
Production Manager
Answer # 3 #

This message may appear when there is an issue with your device. To resolve this problem, you can use another device that is signed in to iCloud to approve the iPhone.

If you are unable to approve the iPhone from another device, your only remaining option is to reset your end-to-end encrypted data.

You will learn in this guide:

End-to-end encryption is a security feature that encrypts information on the device so that it can only be accessed with a key generated from the device and device passcode.

According to Apple:

This means that only the user can access their sensitive and personal information with a key on trusted devices that are signed in with their Apple ID.

Moreover, end-to-end encryption requires two-factor authentication for the Apple ID to verify the user’s identity on another trusted device.

If the user is unable to sign in with two-factor authentication, they will receive a message indicating such. In such a scenario, the user will need to either turn off two-factor authentication or reset their end-to-end encrypted data.

If you are prompted to reset end-to-end encrypted data on your iPhone, rest assured that it will not delete all of the data on your device. Your photos, music, and other personal items will remain accessible to you. According to Apple, the data that will be reset is as follows:

All this data you will lose with the reset.

End-to-end encryption employed by Apple secures the majority of your confidential iCloud data to be decrypted only on your trusted Apple devices where you have signed in with your Apple ID.

This guarantees that even in the event of a cloud data breach, your data remains secure and inaccessible to anyone, including Apple, except you.

With the introduction of iOS 16.2, iPadOS 16.2 and macOS 13.1, Advanced Data Protection is now an option for securing the majority of your iCloud data, even in the event of a cloud data breach.

This feature increases the number of data categories that use end-to-end encryption to 23, including important data such as iCloud Backup, Photos, Notes, and more.

The following additional iCloud categories are covered by end-to-end encryption through Advanced Data Protection:

Advanced Data Protection for iCloud does not cover some important categories such as Mail, Contacts, and Calendar due to the need for compatibility with global email, contact, and calendar systems because of the need to be compatible with global email, contacts, and calendar systems.

[2]
Edit
Query
Report
Soren Nowlin
Flag Throwing
Answer # 4 #

End-to-end Encrypted Data is another security feature developed by Apple, which gives the maximum level of protection to keep any form of data safe. With the use of a key, data will be safeguarded before being delivered to another user in encrypted form. It also necessitates two-factor authentication on a different trusted device. End-to-end Encrypted data is accessible across all types of devices owned by the same company, such as iPhone, iPad, and Mac.

When you are asked to reset end-to-end encrypted data on iPhone, fortunately, it won’t erase all data on your old iPhone. All your photos, music, and other personal stuff stay for your access. According to Apple, the data that is reset is as follows.

Note: For Messages in iCloud, your backup includes a copy of the key safeguarding your messages if you have iCloud Backup enabled. If you lose access to your Keychain or trusted devices, you’ll be able to restore your messages.

after learning what kind of data you may lose after resetting end-to-end encrypted data, let’s start to reset the data. For a great number of users, they can just click Reset Encrypted Data when they can’t approve their new iPhone during setup. For other users, if you have the need to reset end-to-end encrypted data on iPhone for any other reasons, for example, you’ve forgotten the password for your encrypted backup of iPhone, you can follow the steps below.

Step 1. You need to go to Settings > General > Transfer or Reset iPhone > Reset.

Step 2. Choose Reset All Settings. Then enter your iPhone password to reset end-to-end encrypted data on iPhone. This will take a few minutes. Wait patiently.

If you’re afraid of losing data when resetting end-to-end encrypted data, you are suggested to fully backup your iPhone from time to time to protect your end-to-end encrypted data from loss. Here we recommend the free iOS backup tool FoneTool to you.

Step 1. Download and install MBackupper on your Windows PC. Connect your iPhone to the computer via a USB cable and then launch MBackupper.

Step 2. Click Phone Backup > Locate Full Backup and click Get Started. (You can also click Selective Backup on the home page to backup selective data.)

Step 3. Enable Backup encryption as you like. If it is enabled, your data such as Fitness records, Health, and Keychain can be private.

Step 5. Select a storage path to save the backup. Click Start Backup and wait until it finishes.

You may restore the backup to an iPhone after backing it up. To restore a backup, go to Backup History, locate your backup files, and select Restore.

Note: Please keep in mind that restoring full backup files will wipe out all of the data on your target iPhone, however restoring custom backup files would not.

This post mainly gives you the answer to the question of what kind of data you’ll lose when you choose to reset end-to-end encrypted data on iPhone. If you don’t want to lose your end-to-end encrypted data, for example, your payment information, you’d better fully backup your iPhone data to a computer using FoneTool in case you’ll need to restore it in the future.

1. Why does my iPhone say reset end-to-end encrypted data?

This normally happens when you failed to approve your iPhone on one of the other devices signed in to the same iCloud account. It was designed by Apple to protect your data with the highest level of security, especially for data like payment passwords.

2. Will I lose messages if I reset end-to-end encrypted data?

[1]
Edit
Query
Report
Vegar Shigemura
Leatherworker